Students, Faculty Honored at 33rd Annual CVM Awards Banquet

For 33 years a recurring rite of spring at the NC State College of Veterinary Medicine (CVM) has been the Annual CVM Awards Banquet. This year, members of the CVM community gathered at the McKimmon Center to celebrate the many accomplishments of the academic year and to present a total of 78 awards to students, faculty and staff as selected by faculty, students or corporate sponsors for special recognition.

Attendees, special guests and sponsors were welcomed by Marcy Murphy, clinical assistant professor and chair of the faculty committee on awards and scholarships, and by CVM Dean Paul Lunn. The indefatigable master of ceremonies for the evening was professor of aquatic animal medicine Greg Lewbart.

Dean Lunn also presented the three highest awards for faculty members — the Zoetis Animal Health Award for Research Excellence, which went to Troy Ghashghaei; the Huffman Leadership Award, presented to Anthony Blikslager; and the Zoetis Distinguished Teaching Award, determined by student nominations, which was given to Lizette Hardie.

The majority of the awards were presented for outstanding student performance in the classroom as determined by members of the faculty. Scholarship recipients during the 2016-17 academic year were also recognized with a special insert in the dinner program.

In addition to Murphy, other members of the awards and scholarships committee were: Mark Papich, Burroughs Wellcome Fund Professor of Veterinary Pharmacology; Paul Orndorff, professor of microbiology and immunology; and Jennifer Neel, interim associate dean of academic affairs.  

Banquet Sponsors were: Banfield Pet Hospital, Bayer Animal Health, Boehringer Ingelheim Vetmedica, Elanco Animal Health, Merck Animal Health, the North Carolina Veterinary Medical Association, the North Carolina Veterinary Medical Foundation, the student chapter of the American Veterinary Medical Association, and Zoetis Animal Health.

Working behind the scenes to organize the logistics and multiple details of this complex annual event was the CVM’s dedicated team from continuing education, outreach and alumni affairs.

For a complete list of awards and recipients for the 2016-17 academic year, click here.

Photo Gallery:

~Steve Volstad/NC State Veterinary Medicine