CVM Students Honored as Future Swine Vet Leaders

The American Association of Swine Veterinarians Foundation has awarded several NC State College of Veterinary Medicine students with scholarships recognizing them as extraordinary future leaders in their field.

Kayla Castevens and Elizabeth Noblett, both of the Class of 2020, and the Class of 2021’s Jamie Madigan received $5,000 from the AASVF and Merck Animal Health at the recent annual AASV Meeting in Lake Buena Vista, Fla.

Just 10 veterinary students nationwide took home the scholarship this year, which is open to second- and third-year veterinary students.

Additionally, Castevens was one of five students who won a $1,500 AASV Foundation scholarship, funded by Elanco Animal Health, for meeting presentations. Noblett also received a $200 scholarship as part of a poster competition sponsored by Newport Laboratories.

CVM students historically have a strong showing at the AASV’s annual meeting. Last year, six students took home honors, including Castevens, Noblett and Madigan.

Two students won AASVF scholarships in both 2017 and 2016. In 2015, the Class of 2010’s Megan Inskeep was named Young Swine Veterinarian of the Year by the organization.  

For more information on the AASV and its foundation, go here.