CVM Students Take Home AASV Accolades

The American Association of Swine Veterinarians Foundation has singled out several NC State College of Veterinary Medicine students for its list of honors this year.  

Megan Hood, class of 2019, was awarded a $1,500 scholarship, funded by Elanco Animal Health. Hood is one of just 15 veterinary students nationwide to earn an AASV Foundation scholarship this year.

Additionally, five CVM students earned awards in the AASV’s Veterinary Student Poster Competition held earlier this month: Jenna Scott, class of 2019; Jewell Bremer, Kayla Castevens and Elizabeth Noblett, all of the class of 2020; and Jamie Madigan, class of 2021.  

The winners were recognized at the 49th annual AASV meeting, held earlier this month in San Diego.

CVM students interested in careers in swine health and production management regularly earn recognition from the AASV. Last year, the class of 2018’s Kylie Glisson and Olivia Myers won AASV Foundation scholarships, two CVM students won scholarships in 2016.

In 2015, the class of 2010’s Megan Inskeep was named Young Swine Veterinarian of the Year by the organization.

For more information on the AASV and its foundation, go here.