NC State CVM Therio Club Named Student Chapter of the Year

The Student Chapter of the Society for Theriogenology (SCSFT) at the North Carolina State University College of Veterinary Medicine (CVM) was named 2015-2016 Student Chapter of the Year at the annual conference of the Society for Theriogenology, which took place July 27-30, 2016 at the Omni Grove Park Inn in Asheville, NC.

The distinction of Student Chapter of the Year is determined by both the club’s activities throughout the school year, as well as participation at the annual conference. This year, NC State and Auburn were both named Student Chapter of the Year when the final point totals left the two universities in a tie.  NC State was represented at the conference by ten students (Kristina Baltutis, Alexandria Davis, Nicole Haake, Elizabeth Hyde, Joanna Jarred, Rachael Kearns, and  Adeline Noger, all of the Class of 2017; Jennine Lection and Emily Weidrick, Class of 2018; and  Amber Nebel, Class of 2019) and four faculty members (Scott Bailey, associate professor of theriogenology; Sara Lyle, associate professor of theriogenology; Harrison Dudley, assistant professor of ruminant health management; and adjunct faculty member Dr. Katherine Settle).


NC State Therio Club members also participated in and placed in several competitions at the conference, including:

– 1st place in the Student Quiz Bowl – Team Members: Kristina Baltutis, Rachael Kearns, and Jennine Lection;

– 4th place in the Oral Abstract Competition – Jennine Lection;

– three entries selected for the Poster Abstract Competition – Kristina Baltutis (2nd place), Adeline Noger, and Elizabeth Hyde (5th place).

~Steve Volstad/NC State Veterinary Medicine