Skip to main content
Population Health and Pathobiology

Department of Population Health and Pathobiology

We educate new generations of experts in the field of food animal health and epidemiology and develop solutions that reduce the health and economic risks of animal-transmitted diseases.

Pathology 

NC State Veterinary Medicine offers training in two areas of veterinary pathology: anatomic pathology and clinical pathology. Students specializing in anatomic pathology are trained to diagnose disease based on gross pathology, microscopic pathology, veterinary pathology, and general pathology. Students specializing in clinical pathology are trained to diagnose disease based on general pathology, cytology and surgical pathology, hematology, and clinical chemistry.

Pathology faculty are committed to excellence in training through teaching and mentoring and provide a full range of pathology services for diagnostic and research applications, while creating new knowledge through original research programs. Faculty serve veterinary students, anatomic pathology residents, veterinary clinicians including colleagues in the College of Veterinary Medicine and the citizens of North Carolina, as well as national and international collaborators and agencies.

The Pathology faculty provides instruction in the professional veterinary and graduate curricula and is extensively involved the Pathology Focus Area well as the Anatomic Pathology Residency Program, which provides students with advanced training leading to proficiency in the practice of veterinary anatomic pathology and to board certification by the American College of Veterinary Pathologists (ACVP).

Veterinary pathology faculty members are involved in a variety of research efforts and also offer research and tissue analysis and necropsy diagnostic services to members of the College and the NC State Veterinary Hospital as well as to the general public.

Department Contact:    919.513.6240  |     919.513.6464

 

Faculty

Anatomic Pathology

Luke Borst, DVM, PhD, DACVP

Population Health and Pathobiology

lbborst@ncsu.edu

John Cullen, VMD, PhD, DACVP, FIATP

Population Health and Pathobiology

jcullen@ncsu.edu

Heather Shive, DVM, PhD, DACVP

Population Health and Pathobiology

hrshive@ncsu.edu

Mac Law, DVM, PhD

Population Health and Pathobiology

jmlaw@ncsu.edu

Keith Linder, DVM, PhD, Dipl. ACVP

Population Health and Pathobiology

kelinder@ncsu.edu

Jennifer Luff, VMD, PhD

Population Health and Pathobiology

jaluff@ncsu.edu

Debra Ann Tokarz, DVM, PhD, DACVP

Population Health and Pathobiology

Clinical Pathology

Jonathan Fogle, DVM, Ph.D., DACVIM

Population Health and Pathobiology

jefogle@ncsu.edu

Erika Jane Gruber, DVM, DACVP

Population Health and Pathobiology

ejgruber@ncsu.edu

Megan Jacob, MS, PhD

Population Health and Pathobiology

mejacob@ncsu.edu

Jennifer Neel, DVM, Dip. ACVP (Clinical)

Population Health and Pathobiology

jgneel@ncsu.edu

Devorah Marks Stowe, DVM, DACVP

Population Health and Pathobiology

damarks@ncsu.edu

Affiliated Faculty

Residents

Elizabeth Alloway

Population Health and Pathobiology

ecallowa@ncsu.edu

Megan Elizabeth Schreeg, DVM

Population Health and Pathobiology

medowney@ncsu.edu

Sam Sommer, DVM

Population Health and Pathobiology

slthoma8@ncsu.edu

Staff

Jordan Ferguson

Population Health and Pathobiology

jlfergu2@ncsu.edu

Sashi Gadi

Population Health and Pathobiology

srgadi@ncsu.edu