Two CVM Students Awarded Poultry Health Scholarships

Two NC State College of Veterinary Medicine students are recipients of  2019 American Association of Avian Pathologists scholarships honoring the promising next generation of poultry veterinarians.

Dallas Clontz and Grayson Walker are among 10 students across the country receiving the $5,000 scholarship given annually to outstanding second- and third-year veterinary students focused on poultry health.

The scholarship is a partnership between the AAAP Foundation and Merck Animal Health.

“These standout recipients will be instrumental to the future of poultry production,” Justin Welsh, executive director of Merck Animal Health livestock technical services, said in a statement.

Clontz, of the Class of 2020, received the same scholarship last year. In 2017, she received an Elanco Memorial Scholarship and interned with Tyson Foods. Clontz previously received a grant to study spondylitis, a bone disease caused by Enterococcus cecorum that affects commercial broiler chickens worldwide.

A native of Monroe, N.C., Clontz earned bachelor’s degrees in animal science and poultry science from NC State University. After graduation, she plans to complete an anatomic pathology residency and become board certified by the American College of Veterinary Pathologists.

The Class of 2021’s Grayson Walker holds bachelor’s and master’s degrees in poultry science from NC State and has interned with BioResource International, a Durham-based biotechnology company focused on animal nutrition.

A Goodnight Scholars Program alumnus, Walker conducted research on controlling Salmonella in poultry as an undergraduate and in graduate school. Walker, from Collettsville, N.C., plans to pursue a career in academia.

With this year’s honors, eight CVM students have received the scholarship since it launched in 2016.

“Projecting ahead 30 years, these are the future veterinarians who will ensure healthy flocks are producing safe and wholesome eggs and poultry meat in the global food supply,” said AAAP Foundation President Fred Hoerr in a statement.