Skip to main content

CVM Faculty & Staff Awards

Recognizing the accomplishments and contributions of the CVM Community

award presentation

The NC State College of Veterinary Medicine presents several awards annually to recognize and honor the various outstanding achievements of both faculty and staff members. Eligibility and nomination information can be found below.

The Ruth L. & Ned E. Huffman Leadership Award

In January of 1988 the friends of Ned Huffman, and his late wife Ruth, established a fund to honor Mr. Huffman at his retirement from the Research Triangle Foundation, and to recognize his long-standing commitment to the College of Veterinary Medicine and the North Carolina Veterinary Medical Foundation, Inc. The Award is designed to recognize in a faculty or staff member the qualities of leadership, vision, and achievement that Mr. Huffman values highly and his career exemplifies. The winner receives a $1,000 check and a certificate.

All NCSU CVM Faulty & Staff members are eligible for this award. Nominations are collected via Google Form. More information is available here.

2023 Winner – Dr. Derek Foster

Linda Manning Memorial Award for Veterinary Technicians

This award is given in recognition of two veterinary technicians who display endless patience and compassion for animals in their care, provide exceptional patient care and treatment, anticipate the needs of their patients and the veterinarians they work with, encompass honesty and integrity, are often recognized as the most reliable and dependable team members, provide the organizational center of their team or department, and respect the veterinary technician profession by giving back through teaching, lecturing, training, conference participation, or volunteerism. Each recipient is presented with a $500 check and a certificate.

All NCSU VTH technicians are eligible for the award. Nominations are collected via Google Form.

2023 Winners – Patricia Secoura & Shanna Rayburn

CVM Living Our Values (LOV) Community Spirit Awards

These awards recognize individuals who positively demonstrate or model at least one of the CVM Core Values (Community, Inclusivity, Innovation, Passion) in their work life. Results of these actions should have resulted in an exceptional experience for CVM colleagues, teams, students, or clients.

All CVM employees are eligible for this award. Nominations must be received from a peer, colleague or trainee. No self-nominations will be accepted. Nominations should reference examples of specific behaviors aligned with at least one core value and should be 350-600 words.

2023 Winners – Dr. Sam Jones (Innovation), Dr. Dany Meritet (Inclusivity), Jon Hash (Community), and Dr. Greg Wilkerson (Passion)

Outstanding Early Career Faculty Achievement Award

This award recognizes early-stage career faculty who have demonstrated outstanding achievement in education, research, clinical service, or leadership, and have significantly contributed to driving forward the mission of the CVM.

Eligibility is limited to pre-promotion faculty.

2023 Winner – Dr. Jen Halleran

CVM Awards for Excellence

Awards for Excellence is the most prestigious honor bestowed upon non-faculty employees. This award recognizes the outstanding accomplishments and contributions of individual employees, above and beyond an employee’s normal job responsibilities. Individuals can be recognized who demonstrate one of the following award categories: Customer Service, Efficiency & Innovation, Human Relations, Outstanding State Government Service, Public Service, Safety & Heroism, and Spirit of North Carolina.

2023 Winners – Annie Hogue, Camilla Wilkins, Gail Druley, Jon Hash, and Kelsey Mills