Skip to main content

Area of Emphasis

Infectious Disease 

Infectious disease research includes molecular and cellular aspects of bacteriology, parasitology, and virology, as well as investigations of the host immune response to these agents. We study the infectious organism, disease development, diagnostic tests, vaccines and antimicrobial therapies.
NC State CVM virus

Glen Almond, DVM, PhD

Population Health and Pathobiology

gwalmond@ncsu.edu

Kevin Anderson, DVM, PhD, DABVP

Population Health and Pathobiology

klander4@ncsu.edu

Juliana Ferreira, DVM, DVSc

Population Health and Pathobiology

jboninf@ncsu.edu

Luke Borst, DVM, PhD, DACVP

Population Health and Pathobiology

lbborst@ncsu.edu

Benjamin John Callahan, Ph.D.

Population Health and Pathobiology

bcallah@ncsu.edu

Brenda Colby, PhD

Molecular Biomedical Sciences

Maria Correa, PhD

Population Health and Pathobiology

correa@ncsu.edu

Peter Cowen, DVM, PhD, DAVES

Population Health and Pathobiology

pcowen@ncsu.edu

Paula Cray, PhD

Population Health and Pathobiology

pjcray@ncsu.edu

Rocio Crespo

Population Health and Pathobiology

rcrespo@ncsu.edu

John Cullen, VMD, PhD, DACVP, FIATP

Population Health and Pathobiology

jcullen@ncsu.edu

James Flowers, PhD

Population Health and Pathobiology

jflowers@ncsu.edu

Jonathan Fogle, DVM, Ph.D., DACVIM

Population Health and Pathobiology

jefogle@ncsu.edu

Derek Foster, DVM, PhD, DACVIM

Population Health and Pathobiology

dmfoster@ncsu.edu

Fred Fuller, Ph.D.

Population Health and Pathobiology

ffuller@ncsu.edu

Isabel Gimeno, DVM, PhD, DACPV

Population Health and Pathobiology

imgimeno@ncsu.edu

Bruce Hammerberg, PhD

Population Health and Pathobiology

bhammerb@ncsu.edu

Megan Jacob, MS, PhD

Population Health and Pathobiology

mejacob@ncsu.edu

Tobias Kaeser, PhD

Population Health and Pathobiology

tekaeser@ncsu.edu

Cristina Lanzas, DVM, PhD

Population Health and Pathobiology

clanzas@ncsu.edu

Mac Law, DVM, PhD

Population Health and Pathobiology

jmlaw@ncsu.edu

David Ley, DVM, PhD

Population Health and Pathobiology

dley@ncsu.edu

Jennifer Luff, VMD, PhD

Population Health and Pathobiology

jaluff@ncsu.edu

Gustavo Machado, DVM, MSc, PhD

Population Health and Pathobiology

gmachad@ncsu.edu

Paul Orndorff, PhD

Population Health and Pathobiology

Xinxia Peng, Ph.D.

Molecular Biomedical Sciences

xpeng5@ncsu.edu

Barbara Sherry, PhD

Molecular Biomedical Sciences

bsherry@ncsu.edu

Barrett Slenning, DVM, MPVM

Population Health and Pathobiology

bdslenni@ncsu.edu

Andrew Stringer, BVSc, PhD, MRCVS

Population Health and Pathobiology

apstringer@ncsu.edu

Casey M. Theriot, PhD

Population Health and Pathobiology

cmtherio@ncsu.edu

Jeffrey Yoder, PhD

Molecular Biomedical Sciences

jayoder@ncsu.edu