Skip to main content
NC State CVM
Think and Do The Extraordinary
GIVE to the College
Think and Do The Extraordinary
The Campaign for NC State CVM

Pathology

Graduate work in the Pathology Concentration Area includes research at the molecular and cellular level in infectious disease pathogenesis, oncology, toxicology, hematology, and immunology. Research approaches employ a wide variety of molecular, biochemical, pharmacological, and microscopic techniques, utilizing cell culture and whole organisms. Students selecting Pathology will focus on one or more of these areas.

A highly individualized curriculum of study is designed to meet the needs and interests of the student while satisfying selected requirements by the faculty. These include courses in advanced systemic histopathology, toxicologic pathology, avian pathology, and seminar courses in clinical, necropsy, and surgical pathology. Additional courses may be chosen by the student and his/her advisor from a large number of college and university offerings. An appropriate level of competence in diagnostic pathology must be demonstrated by examination before completion of the graduate program.

Courses Required for the Pathology Concentration

CBS 795 General Pathology (3 credits)

CBS 810 Seminar in Pathology (1 credit; 3 credits total for doctoral students; minimum 2 credits total for master’s students)

Name Email Concentration Research Emphasis
Luke Borst lbborst@ncsu.edu Pathology Pathogenic Enterococcus Cecorum, Enterococcal Spondylitis (Kinky Back)
John Cullen jcullen@ncsu.edu Pathology Drug-induced hepatic disease, animal models of viral hepatitis
Oscar Fletcher ojfletch@ncsu.edu Pathology Basic Responses of Avian Tissues to Injury
Erika Gruber ejgruber@ncsu.edu  Immunology, Pathology Regulation of macrophage function
Mac Law jmlaw@ncsu.edu Pathology Mechanistic investigations using histopathology, molecular biology, and analytical techniques
Keith Linder kelinder@ncsu.edu Pathology Concentration Leader Skin Pathology, Comparative Pathology
Robert Smart rcsmart@ncsu.edu Cell Biology, Pathology DNA damage response, apoptosis and cancer
Steven Suter sesuter@ncsu.edu Cell Biology, Immunology, Infectious Diseases, Pathology Genetics and Therapy of Cancer