Skip to main content

Immunology

The Immunology concentration area coursework and laboratory research emphasize cellular and molecular biology studies in infectious disease immunology, mucosal immunity and inflammation, immunopathology, immunoparasitology, environmental immunology, and immunology of non-vertebrate species. Our diversified faculty is drawn from the Colleges of Veterinary Medicine, Sciences, and Agriculture and Life Sciences as well as government agencies located in the Research Triangle Park. Interdepartmental cooperation provides a unique atmosphere for the study of immunology in a wide range of species.

The concentration is designed to prepare students for professional research and teaching careers applying cellular and molecular biology techniques to animal and human health problems, associated with the immune system, including infectious disease and inflammation. Our immunology graduates are extremely competitive for positions in universities, pharmaceutical companies, and governmental institutions. North Carolina State University at Raleigh, with close proximity to the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Duke University, and the Research Triangle Park, provides a unique biomedical research environment for seminars, meetings, and interaction with other scientists. Graduate research assistantships are available to qualified students.

Courses Required for the Phd Immunology Concentration

MB/IMM 751 Immunology (3 credits)

IMM/CBS 816 Advanced Topics in Immunology (1 credit each semester; 8 semesters required for doctoral students)

IMM/CBS 783 Advanced Immunology OR PO/IMM 757 Comparative Immunology (3 credits)

and ONE of the following:

BCH 553 Biochemistry of Gene Expression (3 credits)

BCH 555 Proteins and molecular mechanisms (3 credits)

BCH 705 Molecular Biology of the Cell (3 credits)

BIT 510 Core Technologies in Molecular and Cellular Biology (4 credits)

CBS 770 Cell Biology (3 credits)

Courses Required for the Ms Immunology Concentration

MB/IMM 751 Immunology (3 credits)

IMM/CBS 816 Advanced Topics in Immunology (1 credit each semester; 4 semesters required for masters students)

Elective Courses for Phd and Ms Students

STAT 512 Experimental Statistics For Biological Sciences II (3 credits)

MB 718 Introductory Virology (3 credits)

BCH 553 Biochemistry of Gene Expression (3 credits)

BCH 555 Proteins and Molecular Mechanisms (3 credits)

CBS 770 Cell Biology (3 credits)

CBS 810 Infectious Disease Pathogenic Mechanisms (1 credit)

BIT 510 Core Technologies in Molecular and Cellular Biology (4 credits)

 

BIT module courses (2 credits each):

BIT562 Gene Expression Analysis: Microarrays

BIT 564 Protein Purification

BIT 565 Real time PCR Techniques

BIT 566 Animal Cell Culture Techniques

BIT 567 PCR and DNA Fingerprinting

BIT 568 Genome Mapping

Elective Courses for MS Students

IMM/CBS 783 Advanced Immunology (3 credits)

PO/IMM 757 Comparative Immunology (3 credits)

 

Name Email Concentrations Research Emphasis
Adam Birkenheuer ajbirken@ncsu.edu Immunology, Infectious Diseases General Internal Medicine and Infectious Disease
Petra Bizikova petra_bizikova@ncsu.edu Immunology, Infectious Diseases Autoimmune and allergic skin disease of small animals
Ed Breitschwerdt ed_breitschwerdt@ncsu.edu Immunology, Infectious Diseases Detection, characterization, and treatment of canine/feline bacterial pathogens
Glenn Cruse gpcruse@ncsu.edu Cell Biology, Immunology, Phamacology Regulation and therapeutic intervention of mast cell-mediated inflammation and allergy
Jonathan Fogle jefogle@ncsu.edu Immunology Animal models for T cell dysfunction in HIV infection and Immune dysfunction in cancer and anti-tumor immunity
Fred Fuller fred_fuller@ncsu.edu Immunology, Infectious Diseases Concentration Leader Equine infectious anemia virus
Isabel Gimeno isabel_gimeno@ncsu.edu Immunology, Infectious Diseases Poultry Pathology and Immunology
Bruce Hammerberg bruce_hammerberg@ncsu.edu Immunology, Infectious Diseases Allergic Disease
Paul Hess paul_hess@ncsu.edu Cell Biology, Immunology, Infectious Diseases Targeted Therapeutics of Immune-mediated Diseases
Samuel Jones sljones@ncsu.edu Cell Biology, Immunology, Infectious Diseases Regulation of Neutrophil Motility
Tobias Kaeser tekaeser@ncsu.edu Immunology, Infectious Diseases, Population Medicine Swine immunology and large animal models
Matthew Koci mdkoci@ncsu.edu Immunology Avian Immunology
Scott Laster smlaster@ncsu.edu Immunology Innate Immunity and Inflammation
Thierry Olivry thierry_olivry@ncsu.edu Cell Biology, Immunology, Infectious Diseases Pathogenesis and Therapy of Pruritis, Atopic Dermatitis and Autoimmune Diseases
Lauren Schnabel lvschnab@ncsu.edu Cell Biology, Immunology, Infectious Diseases Stem cell biology and Immunology
Frank Scholle fscholl@ncsu.edu Immunology Viral Immunology
Michael Sikes mlsikes@ncsu.edu Immunology Lymphocyte development and differentiation
Steven Suter sesuter@ncsu.edu Cell Biology, Immunology, Infectious Diseases, Pathology Genetics and Therapy of Cancer
Sue Tonkonogy sue_tonkonogy@ncsu.edu Immunology Concentration leader Immune regulation in the gastrointestinal tract
Jeffrey Yoder jayoder@ncsu.edu Cell Biology, Immunology, Infectious Diseases Characterizations and Function of Innate Immune Response Genes