Skip to main content
NC State CVM
Think and Do The Extraordinary
GIVE to the College
Think and Do The Extraordinary
The Campaign for NC State CVM

Immunology

The Immunology concentration area coursework and laboratory research emphasize cellular and molecular biology studies in infectious disease immunology, mucosal immunity and inflammation, immunopathology, immunoparasitology, environmental immunology, and immunology of non-vertebrate species. Our diversified faculty is drawn from the Colleges of Veterinary Medicine, Sciences, and Agriculture and Life Sciences as well as government agencies located in the Research Triangle Park. Interdepartmental cooperation provides a unique atmosphere for the study of immunology in a wide range of species.

The concentration is designed to prepare students for professional research and teaching careers applying cellular and molecular biology techniques to animal and human health problems, associated with the immune system, including infectious disease and inflammation. Our immunology graduates are extremely competitive for positions in universities, pharmaceutical companies, and governmental institutions. North Carolina State University at Raleigh, with close proximity to the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Duke University, and the Research Triangle Park, provides a unique biomedical research environment for seminars, meetings, and interaction with other scientists. Graduate research assistantships are available to qualified students.

Courses Required for the Phd Immunology Concentration

MB/IMM 751 Immunology (3 credits)

IMM/CBS 816 Advanced Topics in Immunology (1 credit each semester; 8 semesters required for doctoral students)

IMM/CBS 783 Advanced Immunology OR PO/IMM 757 Comparative Immunology (3 credits)

and ONE of the following:

BCH 553 Biochemistry of Gene Expression (3 credits)

BCH 555 Proteins and molecular mechanisms (3 credits)

BCH 705 Molecular Biology of the Cell (3 credits)

BIT 510 Core Technologies in Molecular and Cellular Biology (4 credits)

CBS 770 Cell Biology (3 credits)

Courses Required for the Ms Immunology Concentration

MB/IMM 751 Immunology (3 credits)

IMM/CBS 816 Advanced Topics in Immunology (1 credit each semester; 4 semesters required for masters students)

Elective Courses for Phd and Ms Students

STAT 512 Experimental Statistics For Biological Sciences II (3 credits)

MB 718 Introductory Virology (3 credits)

BCH 553 Biochemistry of Gene Expression (3 credits)

BCH 555 Proteins and Molecular Mechanisms (3 credits)

CBS 770 Cell Biology (3 credits)

CBS 810 Infectious Disease Pathogenic Mechanisms (1 credit)

BIT 510 Core Technologies in Molecular and Cellular Biology (4 credits)

 

BIT module courses (2 credits each):

BIT562 Gene Expression Analysis: Microarrays

BIT 564 Protein Purification

BIT 565 Real time PCR Techniques

BIT 566 Animal Cell Culture Techniques

BIT 567 PCR and DNA Fingerprinting

BIT 568 Genome Mapping

Elective Courses for MS Students

IMM/CBS 783 Advanced Immunology (3 credits)

PO/IMM 757 Comparative Immunology (3 credits)

 

Name Email Concentration Research Emphasis
Adam Birkenheuer ajbirken@ncsu.edu  Immunology, Infectious Diseases General Internal Medicine and Infectious Disease
Bruce Hammerberg bruce_hammerberg@ncsu.edu  Immunology Development of biological therapies for allergic diseases
Christopher Mariani clmarian@ncsu.edu  Immunology, Neurosciences Comparative neuroimmunology and neuro-oncology
Elisa Crisci ecrisci@ncsu.edu  Immunology, Infectious Diseases Crisci lab studies the interactions between respiratory viruses and innate immunity
Erika Gruber ejgruber@ncsu.edu  Immunology, Pathology Regulation of macrophage function
Frank Scholle fscholl@ncsu.edu  Immunology Viral Immunology
Glenn Cruse gpcruse@ncsu.edu Cell Biology, Immunology, Phamacology Translational research in mast cell-driven diseases such as allergy, asthma and mastocytosis.
Isabel Gimeno imgimeno@ncsu.edu Immunology, Infectious Diseases, Population Medicine Tumor viral diseases in poultry and development of the chicken immune system
Jeffrey Yoder jayoder@ncsu.edu  Cell Biology, Immunology, Infectious Diseases We study the evolution of immune receptors and PFAS immunotoxicology.
John Gadsby john_gadsby@ncsu.edu  Cell Biology, Immunology The goal of our USDA funded research is to study the role of immune cells in the ovary.
Jonathan Fogle jefogle@ncsu.edu  Immunology Animal models for T cell dysfunction in HIV infection and Immune dysfunction in cancer and anti-tumor immunity
Lauren Schnabel lvschnab@ncsu.edu  Cell Biology, Immunology, Infectious Diseases The Schnabel Laboratory focuses on the use of regenerative and biologic therapies for the treatment of musculoskeletal injuries.
Marcelo Rodriguez-Puebla mrodrig@ncsu.edu  Cell Biology, Immunology  Molecular mechanisms of cell proliferation and apoptosis with the main emphasis on dysregulate proliferation and carcinogenesis.
Matthew Koci mdkoci@ncsu.edu Immunology, Infectious Diseases Matt Koci's research program focuses on host-microbe interactions and understanding how the host recognizes, responds to, eliminates, and ultimately develops resistance to pathogens.
Michael Sikes mlsikes@ncsu.edu  Immunology Lymphocyte development and differentiation
Paul Hess paul_hess@ncsu.edu  Immunology We work to develop new immunotherapies for canine hematologic cancers
Petra Bizikova petra_bizikova@ncsu.edu  Immunology, Infectious Diseases Autoimmune and allergic skin disease of small animals
Ravi Kulkarni rrkulkar@ncsu.edu  Immunology, Infectious Diseases Immunology of infectious diseases and Vaccine development
Samuel Jones sljones@ncsu.edu  Cell Biology, Immunology, Infectious Diseases Regulation of Neutrophil Motility
Scott Laster smlaster@ncsu.edu  Immunology New medicines for inflammation and pain
Steven Suter sesuter@ncsu.edu  Cell Biology, Immunology, Infectious Diseases, Pathology Genetics and Therapy of Cancer
Sue Tonkonogy sue_tonkonogy@ncsu.edu  Immunology Immune regulation in the gastrointestinal tract
Thierry Olivry thierry_olivry@ncsu.edu  Cell Biology, Immunology, Infectious Diseases Pathogenesis and Therapy of Pruritis, Atopic Dermatitis and Autoimmune Diseases
Tobias Kaeser tekaeser@ncsu.edu Immunology, Infectious Diseases The Kaeser lab studies the adaptive immune response in pigs and uses it as a biomedical animal model for chlamydia infections and food allergy
Yevgeny Brudno ybrudno@ncsu.edu  Immunology, Neurosciences, Pharmacology  Drug delivery to the brain and to cancer.