Skip to main content
NC State CVM
Think and Do The Extraordinary
GIVE to the College
Think and Do The Extraordinary
The Campaign for NC State CVM

Infectious Diseases

Graduate work in the Infectious Disease Concentration Area includes research at the molecular and cellular level in bacteriology, parasitology, and virology, as well as investigations of the host immune response to these agents. Programs focus on etiology, pathogenesis, diagnostic development, vaccine development, and antimicrobial therapies. Programs also focus on gene regulation and host-pathogen interactions that influence pathogenesis. Research approaches employ a wide variety of molecular, biochemical, pharmacological, and microscopic techniques, utilizing cell culture and whole organisms. Students selecting Infectious Disease will focus on one or more of these areas.

A highly individualized curriculum of study is designed to meet the needs and interests of the student while satisfying selected requirements by the faculty. These include graduate level cell biology and biochemistry, as well as graduate level courses relating to the specific discipline chosen (bacteriology, parasitology, or virology). Additional courses may be chosen by the student and his/her advisor from a large number of college and university offerings.

Students entering the Ph.D. program having completed courses equivalent to the required courses may, with the consent of their thesis committee, petition the concentration area Graduate Committee to waive these requirements.

Courses Required for the Infectious Diseases Concentration

CBS 810 Seminar in Infectious Diseases (1 credit; minimum 3 credits total for doctoral students; minimum 2 credits total for master’s students)

 Elective Courses

Elective courses are selected by the student and mentor, and must be approved by the student’s graduate advisory committee. Possible elective course include, but are not limited to, the following:

Biochemistry

BCH 701 Macromolecular Structure; Fall (3 credits)

BCH 703 Macromolecular Synthesis and Regulation; Fall (3 credits)

Microbiology and immunology

MB 714 Microbial Metabolic Regulation; Fall (3 credits)

MB 718 Introductory Virology; Fall alternate odd years (3 credits)

MB/IMM 751 Immunology; Spring (3 credits)

IMM/TOX 705 Immunotoxicology; Spring (2 credits)

IMM/CBS 755 Immunoparasitology; Spring alternate years (2 credits)

IMM/PO 757 Comparative Immunology; Spring alternate odd years (3 credits)

IMM/CBS/MB 783 Adv. Immunology; Fall alternate years (3 credits)

IMM/CBS 816 Adv. Topics in Immunology; Fall and Spring (1 credits)

Comparative biomdeical sciences

CBS 770 Cell Biology; Spring (3 credits)

CBS 771 Cancer Biology; Fall (4 credits)

CBS 774 Epidemiol. of Inf. Dis. of International Importance; Fall alternate years

Molecular and cell biology

GN 701 Molecular Genetics; Fall (3 credits)

GN 702 Cellular and Developmental Genetics; Spring (3 credits)

GN 750 Developmental Genetics; Spring alternate years (3 credits)

GN/ST 756 Computations Molecular Evolution; Fall alternate years (3 credits)

GN/MB 758 Microbial Genetics & Genomics; Spring (3 credits)

GN/BCH 761 Adv. Molecular Biology of the Cell; Spring alternate years (3 credits)

GN/BCH 768 Nucleic Acids: Structure and Function; Spring alternate years (3 credits)

GN 810-xxx Special Topics in Genetics; Fall and Spring (1-6 credits)

BCH 705 Molecular Biology of the Cell; Spring (3 credits)

Statistics

ST 501 Fundamentals of Statistical Inference I; Fall & Summer (3 credits)

ST 701 Statistical Theory I; Fall (3 credits)

Techniques

BIT 815 Advanced Topics In Biotechnology; Summer (1-6 credits)

Name Email Concentrations Research Emphasis
Kevin Anderson kevin_anderson@ncsu.edu  Infectious Diseases Ruminant health management; focus on mastitis and milk quality
Adam Birkenheuer ajbirken@ncsu.edu Immunology, Infectious Diseases General Internal Medicine and Infectious Disease
Petra Bizikova pbiziko@ncsu.edu Immunology, Infectious Diseases Autoimmune and allergic skin disease of small animals
Juliana Bonin Ferreira jboninf@ncsu.edu Infectious Diseases, Population Medicine
Ed Breitschwerdt ebbreits@ncsu.edu Infectious Diseases Vector Borne Intracellular Pathogens Research
Ben Callahan bcallah@ncsu.edu Infectious Diseases, Population Medicine Microbiome methods in health and disease
Rocio Crespo rcrespo@ncsu.edu Infectious Diseases, Population Medicine Conducting applied research on poultry health and production
Elisa Crisci ecrisci@ncsu.edu  Immunology, Infectious Diseases Innate immunity during viral diseases
Derek Foster dmfoster@ncsu.edu Infectious Diseases Antimicrobial resistance, food animal pharmacology, gastrointestinal physiology
Fred Fuller ffuller@ncsu.edu Infectious Diseases Concentration Leader Equine Infectious Anemia virus pathogenesis- will retire next summer
Isabel Gimeno imgimeno@ncsu.edu Infectious Diseases, Population Medicine Tumor viral diseases in poultry
Jody Gookin jgookin@ncsu.edu Cell Biology, Infectious Diseases Host-pathogen Interactions in the Gut
Megan Jacob mejacob@ncsu.edu Infectious Diseases Antimicrobial resistance and public health microbiology
Samuel Jones sljones@ncsu.edu Cell Biology, Immunology, Infectious Diseases Regulation of Neutrophil Motility
Tobias Kaeser tekaeser@ncsu.edu Immunology, Infectious Diseases, Population Medicine Immunological memory in pigs to facilitate vaccine development for porcine and human diseases
Matthew Koci mdkoci@ncsu.edu Immunology, Infectious Diseases Mucosal immunity and host-pathogen interactions 
Michael Levy mike_levy@ncsu.edu Infectious Diseases Immunoparasitology
Sara Lyle sklyle2@ncsu.edu  Infectious Diseases Host-pathogen interactions (microbiota)
Gustavo Machado gmachad@ncsu.edu  Infectious Diseases, Population Medicine Disease spread modeling and epidemiology
Thierry Olivry tolivry@ncsu.edu Cell Biology, Immunology, Infectious Diseases Pathogenesis and Therapy of Pruritis, Atopic Dermatitis and Autoimmune Diseases
Xinxia Peng xpeng5@ncsu.edu Infectious Diseases Host-microbiome-pathogen interactions
Frank Scholle frank_scholle@ncsu.edu Immunology, Infectious Diseases Viral Immunology
Barbara Sherry barbara_sherry@ncsu.edu Infectious Diseases Virus-cell interactions
Michael Sikes mike_sikes@ncsu.edu Immunology, Infectious Diseases Lymphocyte development and differentiation
Steven Suter sesuter@ncsu.edu Cell Biology, Immunology, Infectious Diseases, Pathology Genetics and Therapy of Cancer
Sid Thakur sthakur@ncsu.edu Infectious Diseases, Population Medicine Infectious diseases and Antimicrobial Resistance
Casey Theriot cmtherio@ncsu.edu Infectious Diseases Study the interactions between the gut microbiota, host, and pathogen C. difficile