Skip to main content
NC State CVM
Think and Do The Extraordinary
GIVE to the College
Think and Do The Extraordinary
The Campaign for NC State CVM

Pharmacology

Graduate work in the Pharmacology Concentration Area includes research at the molecular and cellular level in pharmacology, pharmacokinetics, drug interactions, drug residues and metabolites, anesthetics and autonomic drugs, pulmonary biology, oncology, ophthalmology, gastroenterology, reproductive endocrinology, and lipid-, peptide-, and oxygen-derived mediators of inflammation. Research approaches employ a wide variety of molecular, biochemical, pharmacological, and microscopic techniques, utilizing cell culture and whole organisms. Students selecting Pharmacology will focus on one or more of these areas.

A highly individualized curriculum of study is designed to meet the needs and interests of the student while satisfying selected requirements by the faculty. These include courses in introductory pharmacology and toxicology, advanced pharmacology, pharmacokinetics, statistics, and participation in a seminar series in pharmacology. Additional courses may be chosen by the student and his/her advisor from a large number of college and university offerings.

Courses Required for the Pharmacology Concentration

BCH 553 Biochemistry of Gene Expression; Fall, Spring, & Summer (3 credits)

TOX 701 Fundamentals of Toxicology; Fall (3 credits)

TOX 710 Molecular and Biochemical Toxicology; Spring (3 credits)

CBS 762 Principles in Pharmacology; Spring (3 credits)

CBS 787 Pharmacokinetics; Fall alternate years (3 credits)

CBS 810 Seminar in Pharmacology (1 credit; minimum 3 credits total)

CBS 860 Techniques in Pharmacological Research; Fall (2 credits)

Elective Courses

Elective courses are selected by the student and mentor, and must be approved by the student’s graduate advisory committee. Possible elective course include, but are not limited to, the following:

PB 495/595-011, ECE 492-030/592-038, & CBS 595-011 Systems Biology Modeling of Multicellular Organisms; Fall (3 credits)

ST 512 Experimental Statistics For Biological Sciences II; Fall/Spring/Summer (3 credits)

Name Email Concentrations Research Emphasis
Belinda Akpa bsakpa@ncsu.edu Cell Biology, Pharmacology Mechanistic mathematical modeling
Brian Gilger bgilger@ncsu.edu Cell Biology, Pharmacology Ocular inflammation, drug delivery, gene therapy, fungal keratitis, and imaging of the eye
Chris McGahan mcmcgaha@ncsu.edu  Cell Biology, Phamacology Regulation of Fe metabolism in the eye, the involvement of Fe in cataract formation, and mechanisms underlying post-surgical regrowth of lens tissue
David Dorman david_dorman@ncsu.edu  Neurosciences, Pharmacology My research interests include neurotoxicology and cognition and olfaction in animals
Derek Foster derek_foster@ncsu.edu  Infectious Diseases, Pharmacology, Population Medicine We use pharmacokinetic modeling to understand antimicrobial resistance in enteric bacteria. 
Geof Smith gwsmith@ncsu.edu Pharmacology Pathophysiology and treatment of diseases affecting calves, ruminant pharmacology, food safety and prevention of drug residues
Glenn Cruse gpcruse@ncsu.edu Cell Biology, Immunology, Phamacology Translational research in mast cell-driven diseases such as allergy, asthma and mastocytosis.
Kristen Messenger kmmessen@ncsu.edu Pharmacology The Messenger lab research focus is on the pharmacokinetics and pharmacodynamics of analgesic drugs.
Mark Papich mgpapich@ncsu.edu Pharmacology Research in medications administered to animals
Melissa Christina Srougi mcsrougi@ncsu.edu Cell Biology, Pharmacology experimental cancer chemotherapeutics, DNA damage responses, redox, metabolism, cancer
Michael Stoskopf mkstosko@ncsu.edu  Pharmacology, Population Medicine Ecological Metabolomics
Ronald Baynes rebaynes@ncsu.edu Pharmacology Comparative Pharmacokinetics and Risk Management of Drug Residues
Russell Borski russell_borski@ncsu.edu  Cell Biology, Pharmacology Studies endocrinology and the adaptive stress response in vertebrates
Steven Marks slmarks@ncsu.edu Pharmacology  
Yevgeny Brudno ybrudno@ncsu.edu  Immunology, Neurosciences, Pharmacology  Drug delivery to the brain and to cancer.