Skip to main content
NC State CVM
Think and Do The Extraordinary
GIVE to the College
Think and Do The Extraordinary
The Campaign for NC State CVM

Cell Biology

The Cell Biology Concentration Area encompasses research at the molecular and cellular levels in the following disciplines: gastroenterology, oncology, pulmonary biology, ophthalmology, reproductive endocrinology, pharmacology, neurophysiology and neuroanatomy, and cellular differentiation and morphogenesis. Research approaches employ a wide variety of molecular, biochemical, pharmacological, and microscopic techniques, utilizing cell culture and whole organisms. Students selecting Cell Biology will focus their research efforts on one or more of these areas.

A highly individualized curriculum of study is designed to meet the needs and interests of the student while satisfying selected requirements by the faculty. These include graduate level cell biology, biochemistry, and cell biology seminars. Additional courses may be chosen by the student and his/her advisor from a large number of college and university offerings.

Courses Required for the Cell Biology Concentration

GN701 Molecular Genetics; Fall (3 credits)

CBS 770 Cell Biology; Spring (4 credits)

CBS 810 Seminar in Cell Biology (1 credit; minimum 3 credits total for doctoral students; minimum 2 credits total for master’s students)

Elective Courses

Elective courses are selected by the student and mentor, and must be approved by the student’s graduate advisory committee. Possible elective course include, but are not limited to, the following:

BCH 701 Macromolecular Structure; Fall (3 credits)

BCH 703 Macromolecular Synthesis and Regulation; Fall (3 credits)

BCH 705 Molecular Biology of the Cell; Spring (3 credits)

GN 701 Molecular Genetics; Fall (3 credits)

GN 702 Cellular and Developmental Genetics; Spring (3 credits)

GN 750 Developmental Genetics; Spring alternate years(3 credits)

GN/MB 758 Microbial Genetics & Genomics; Spring (3 credits)

GN 761 Advanced Molecular Biology of the Cell; Spring alternate years (3 credits)

GN/BCH 768 Nucleic Acids: Structure and Function; Spring alternate years (3 credits)

CBS/IMM/MB 783 Advanced Immunology; Fall alternate odd years (3 credits)

CBS/IMM 816 Advanced Topics in Immunology; Fall (1 credits)

MB 718 Introductory Virology; Fall alternate odd years (3 credits)

IMM/TOX 705 Immunotoxicology; Spring (2 credits)

IMM 751 Immunology; Spring (3 credits)

PHY 503, 504 General Physiology I and II (3 credits)

PHY 702 Reproductive Physiology of Mammals; Fall & Spring (3 credits)

PHY 780 Mammalian Endocrinology (3 credits)

ST 701 Statistical Theory I; Fall (3 credits)

TOX 501 Principles of Toxicology; Spring (4 credits)

Name Email Concentration Research Emphasis
Amanda Ziegler amanda_ziegler@ncsu.edu  Cell Biology  Development of epithelial barrier repair signaling in the neonatal gut
Amy Stieler Stewart  alstiele@ncsu.edu  Cell Biology Subepithelial signaling within the intestine during repair after injury
Anthony Blikslager anthony_blikslager@ncsu.edu  Cell Biology Mechanisms of intestinal mucosal injury and repair
Belinda Akpa bsakpa@ncsu.edu Cell Biology, Pharmacology Mechanistic mathematical modeling
Brian Gilger bgilger@ncsu.edu Cell Biology, Phamacology Ocular inflammation, drug delivery, gene therapy, fungal keratitis, and imaging of the eye
Caroline Laplante claplan@ncsu.edu  Cell Biology Understanding how a mother cell divides into two daughter cells.
Chris McGahan mcmcgaha@ncsu.edu  Cell Biology, Phamacology Regulation of Fe metabolism in the eye, the involvement of Fe in cataract formation, and mechanisms underlying post-surgical regrowth of lens tissue
Christopher Dekaney cmdekane@ncsu.edu Cell Biology Role of the intestinal stem cell niche in recovery from damage.
Duncan Lascelles dxlascel@ncsu.edu  Cell Biology, Neurosciences Measurement and neurobiology of pain in induced and naturally occurring animal models
Eleanor Hawkins eleanor_hawkins@ncsu.edu  Cell Biology Respiratory medicine, particularly pulmonology and Chronic Bronchitis
Elizabeth Lucas elucas2@ncsu.edu Cell Biology, Neurosciences Cell, circuit, and neuroendocrine basis of affective and memory disorders.
Glenn Cruse gpcruse@ncsu.edu Cell Biology, Immunology, Phamacology Translational research in mast cell-driven diseases such as allergy, asthma and mastocytosis.
Jeffrey Yoder jayoder@ncsu.edu  Cell Biology, Immunology, Infectious Disease We study the evolution of immune receptors and PFAS immunotoxicology.
Jody Gookin jgookin@ncsu.edu Cell Biology, Infectious Diseases Host-pathogen Interactions in the Gut
John Gadsby john_gadsby@ncsu.edu  Cell Biology, Immunology The goal of our USDA funded research is to study the role of immune cells in the ovary.
Jorge Piedrahita japiedra@ncsu.edu  Cell Biology Use of stem cells in regenerative medicine
Kathryn Meurs kmmeurs@ncsu.edu  Cell Biology Genomics of Cardiac Disease
Ke Cheng ke_cheng@ncsu.edu Cell Biology Regenerative medicine by using patient-derived stem cells, biomaterials, micro-RNAs and bioengineering approaches
Kelly Ann Meiklejohn kameikle@ncsu.edu Cell Biology New techniques for analyzing forensic evidence using next generation sequencing. 
Kenneth Adler kbadler@ncsu.edu Cell Biology molecular mechanisms of inflammation and carcinogenesis
Korinn Saker kesaker@ncsu.edu  Cell Biology Nutrition of Cancer
Lauren Schnabel lvschnab@ncsu.edu  Cell Biology, Immunology, Infectious Diseases The Schnabel Laboratory focuses on the use of regenerative and biologic therapies for the treatment of musculoskeletal injuries.
Laurianne Van Landeghem lcvanlan@ncsu.edu  Cell Biology, Neurosciences My lab explores how cues emanating from the microenvironment regulate intestinal epithelial (stem) cells in health and diseases with a special emphasis on cells belonging to the enteric nervous system.
Liara Gonzalez lmgonza4@ncsu.edu  Cell Biology Utilizing large animal models to study intestinal stem cell dynamics during clinically relevant disease states.
Marcelo Rodriguez-Puebla mrodrig@ncsu.edu  Cell Biology, Immunology  Molecular mechanisms of cell proliferation and apoptosis with the main emphasis on dysregulate proliferation and carcinogenesis.
Matthew Breen Matthew_Breen@ncsu.edu  Cell Biology, Pathology Genetics, genomics, comparative aspects of animal and human health.
Melissa Christina Srougi mcsrougi@ncsu.edu Cell Biology, Pharmacology experimental cancer chemotherapeutics, DNA damage responses, redox, metabolism, cancer
Michael Nolan mwnolan@ncsu.edu  Cell Biology, Neurosciences We study the intersection of cancer and pain.
Nanette Nascone-Yoder nmnascon@ncsu.edu  Cell Biology organ development 
Natasha Olby njolby@ncsu.edu  Cell Biology, Neurosciences We investigate naturally occurring canine neurological disease, specifically aging, pain and spinal cord injury,
Nicolas Buchler nebuchle@ncsu.edu  Cell Biology Fungi, cell cycle, evolution, quantitative biology. 
Paul Mozdziak pemozdzi@ncsu.edu  Cell Biology Muscle Biology and Cellular Agriculture.
Phillip Sannes plsannes@ncsu.edu  Cell Biology  Pulmonary alveolar injury and repair mechanisms
Robert Smart rcsmart@ncsu.edu Cell Biology Regulated cell death in response to DNA damage and oncogenic stress 
Russell Borski russell_borski@ncsu.edu  Cell Biology, Pharmacology Studies endocrinology and the adaptive stress response in vertebrates
Sabrina Robertson sedought@ncsu.edu  Cell Biology Effects of manipulating NE neuron activity in vivo
Samuel Jones sljones@ncsu.edu  Cell Biology, Immunology, Infectious Diseases Regulation of Neutrophil Motility
Seth Kullman swkullma@ncsu.edu  Cell Biology Developmental Endocrinology 
Steven Suter sesuter@ncsu.edu  Cell Biology, Immunology, Infectious Diseases, Pathology Genetics and Therapy of Cancer
Thierry Olivry tolivry@ncsu.edu  Cell Biology, Immunology, Infectious Diseases Pathogenesis and Therapy of Pruritis, Atopic Dermatitis and Autoimmune Diseases
Troy Ghashghaei tghashg@ncsu.edu Cell Biology Development and Function of Adult Neural Stem Cells