Skip to main content

Cell Biology

The Cell Biology Concentration Area encompasses research at the molecular and cellular levels in the following disciplines: gastroenterology, oncology, pulmonary biology, ophthalmology, reproductive endocrinology, pharmacology, neurophysiology and neuroanatomy, and cellular differentiation and morphogenesis. Research approaches employ a wide variety of molecular, biochemical, pharmacological, and microscopic techniques, utilizing cell culture and whole organisms. Students selecting Cell Biology will focus their research efforts on one or more of these areas.

A highly individualized curriculum of study is designed to meet the needs and interests of the student while satisfying selected requirements by the faculty. These include graduate level cell biology, biochemistry, and cell biology seminars. Additional courses may be chosen by the student and his/her advisor from a large number of college and university offerings.

Courses Required for the Cell Biology Concentration

GN701 Molecular Genetics; Fall (3 credits)

CBS 770 Cell Biology; Spring (4 credits)

CBS 810 Seminar in Cell Biology (1 credit; minimum 3 credits total for doctoral students; minimum 2 credits total for master’s students)

Elective Courses

Elective courses are selected by the student and mentor, and must be approved by the student’s graduate advisory committee. Possible elective course include, but are not limited to, the following:

BCH 701 Macromolecular Structure; Fall (3 credits)

BCH 703 Macromolecular Synthesis and Regulation; Fall (3 credits)

BCH 705 Molecular Biology of the Cell; Spring (3 credits)

GN 701 Molecular Genetics; Fall (3 credits)

GN 702 Cellular and Developmental Genetics; Spring (3 credits)

GN 750 Developmental Genetics; Spring alternate years(3 credits)

GN/MB 758 Microbial Genetics & Genomics; Spring (3 credits)

GN 761 Advanced Molecular Biology of the Cell; Spring alternate years (3 credits)

GN/BCH 768 Nucleic Acids: Structure and Function; Spring alternate years (3 credits)

CBS/IMM/MB 783 Advanced Immunology; Fall alternate odd years (3 credits)

CBS/IMM 816 Advanced Topics in Immunology; Fall (1 credits)

MB 718 Introductory Virology; Fall alternate odd years (3 credits)

IMM/TOX 705 Immunotoxicology; Spring (2 credits)

IMM 751 Immunology; Spring (3 credits)

PHY 503, 504 General Physiology I and II (3 credits)

PHY 702 Reproductive Physiology of Mammals; Fall & Spring (3 credits)

PHY 780 Mammalian Endocrinology (3 credits)

ST 701 Statistical Theory I; Fall (3 credits)

TOX 501 Principles of Toxicology; Spring (4 credits)

Name Email Concentration Research Emphasis
Kenneth Adler kbadler@ncsu.edu Cell Biology Interactions of airway epithelium with inflammatory mediators and inhaled pollutants
Scott Bailey csbailey@ncsu.edu Cell Biology Diseases of Pregnancy in the Mare
Anthony Blikslager atbliksl@ncsu.edu Cell Biology Mechanism of Intestinal Mucosal Repair
Matthew Breen mbreen3@ncsu.edu Cell Biology Cytogentics of Cancer
Ke Cheng ke_cheng@ncsu.edu Cell Biology, Phamacology Regenerative medicine by using patient-derived stem cells, biomaterials, micro-RNAs and bioengineering approaches
Glenn Cruse gpcruse@ncsu.edu Cell Biology, Immunology, Phamacology Mechanisms of receptor signaling, ion channel physiology and cytoskeletal reorganization that determine mast cell function
Christopher Dekaney cmdekane@ncsu.edu Cell Biology The roles Paneth cells, from the intestinal epithelium, play in epithelial repair – particularly within the context of providing a stem cell niche
John Gadsby jgadsby@ncsu.edu Cell Biology Regulation of the Corpus Luteum
Troy Ghashghaei tghashg@ncsu.edu Cell Biology Development and Function of Adult Neural Stem Cells
Brian Gilger bgilger@ncsu.edu Cell Biology, Phamacology Pharmacology of the Eye
Jody Gookin jgookin@ncsu.edu Cell Biology, Infectious Diseases Host-pathogen Interactions in the Gut
Eleanor Hawkins echawkin@ncsu.edu Cell Biology Respiratory medicine, particularly pulmonology and Chronic Bronchitis
Paul Hess prhess@ncsu.edu Cell Biology, Immunology, Infectious Diseases Targeted Therapeutics of Immune-mediated Diseases
Samuel Jones sljones@ncsu.edu Cell Biology, Immunology, Infectious Diseases Regulation of Neutrophil Motility
Caroline Laplante claplan@ncsu.edu Cell Biology
Duncan Lascelles dxlascel@ncsu.edu Cell Biology, Phamacology Mechanism and Treatment of Pain
Christopher Mariani clmarian@ncsu.edu Cell Biology Biology of Cancers of the Brain
Chris McGahan mcmcgaha@ncsu.edu Cell Biology, Phamacology Regulation of Fe metabolism in the eye, the involvement of Fe in cataract formation, and mechanisms underlying post-surgical regrowth of lens tissue
Kathryn Meurs kmmeurs@ncsu.edu Cell Biology Genomics of Cardiac Disease
Freya Mowat fmmowat@ncsu.edu Cell Biology Defining the underlying causes of SARDS in dogs
Nanette Nascone-Yoder nmnascon@ncsu.edu Cell Biology Development of the Gastrointestinal Tract
Micheal Nolan mwnolan@ncsu.edu Cell Biology Normal tissue radiobiology, and the study of inflammation and immunity as they relate to local and systemic responses to irradiation
Natasha Olby njolby@ncsu.edu Cell Biology Treatment of Spinal Cord Injury and Genomics of Neurological Diseases
Thierry Olivry tolivry@ncsu.edu Cell Biology, Immunology, Infectious Diseases Pathogenesis and Therapy of Pruritis, Atopic Dermatitis and Autoimmune Diseases
Sabrina Robertson sedought@ncsu.edu Cell Biology Effects of manipulating NE neuron activity in vivo
Marcelo Rodriguez-Puebla mrodrig@ncsu.edu Cell Biology Cell cycle regulation, skin carcinogenesis, mouse model, tumor biology
Korinn Saker kesaker@ncsu.edu Cell Biology Nutrition of Cancer
Philip Sannes plsannes@ncsu.edu Cell Biology Concentration Leader Interactions between epithelial cell populations and connective tissue matrices
Robert Smart rcsmart@unity.ncsu.edu Cell Biology Chemical carcinogenesis and development in model laboratory systems
Lauren Schnabel lvschnab@ncsu.edu Cell Biology, Immunology, Infectious Diseases Stem Cell Biology and Immunology
Barbara Sherry bsherry@ncsu.edu Cell Biology, Infectious Diseases We study viral infections of the heart to identify the viral and host determinants of cardiac damage
Steven Suter sesuter@ncsu.edu Cell Biology, Immunology, Infectious Diseases, Pathology Genetics and Therapy of Cancer
Jeffrey Yoder jayoder@ncsu.edu Cell Biology, Immunology, Infectious Diseases Characterizations and Function of Innate Immune Response Genes